Laws Regarding Child Safety Seats
Child safety seats are required in every state. Why?
One of the most important jobs you have as a parent is keeping your child safe when riding in a vehicle. Each year, thousands of young children are killed or injured in car crashes. Proper use of car seats helps keep children safe. But with so many different seats on the market, many parents find this overwhelming.
The following website, which provides the laws in Louisiana, also offers many online resources for support for parents:
The Louisiana Highway Safety Commission believes child safety seats provide infants and young children the absolute best protection in the car.
If your child fits within more than one category due to age or weight, please place him or her in the more protective option.
Birth – 1 year old and less than 20 lbs.: Rear-facing infant or convertible seat.
1 up to 4 years old and from 20 to 40 lbs: Must ride forward facing in a convertible or combination seat with an internal harness as required by Louisiana law.
4 up to 6 years old and from 40 to 60 lbs.: Must ride in a belt-positioning booster seat (backless or high-backed).
At least 6 years old and more than 60 lbs.: Lap-shoulder belt or belt-positioning booster seat. (It is also recommended that the child be at least 4 ft 9 inches tall).
Sizing Child Car Seats
Therefore, the first rule of child safety seats is to fit the correct seat to your child’s (and family’s) needs. The type of car seat your child needs depends on many factors. No one seat is the “safest” or the “best.” The “best” child safety seat for your family is the one that is easy to use, fits in your vehicle’s seats, is compatible with the vehicle’s seat belts or LATCH system, and is the proper size for your child, based on age, height and weight.
Is your child in the right car seat? ADAC offers free child seat checks Wednesdays by appointment at the ADAC office at 730 Belanger Street in Houma. To make an appointment or for questions, call (985) 879-2273 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Or you can have your child car seats checked at any of the fitting stations near you. Certified Child Passenger Safety (CPS) technicians will inspect your seat FREE OF CHARGE and show you how to correctly install & use it!
How do I get a car seat if I cannot afford one?
There are multiple ways to receive assistance on a car seat. Our Lady of the Lake Children’s Hospital: Baton Rouge.La. has many answers to your questions.
If you or a loved one was involved in a car accident for any of the reasons listed above or for any other reason, contact the Law Office of L. Clayton Burgess. Our personal injury lawyers are committed to helping you achieve fair compensation for your claim. A FREE consultation will provide you with information on whether to take action in filing a claim.